STANY 78th Annual Conference & Dinner


April 10, 2014
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Add to Calendar


Three Sixty
10 Desbrosses Street
New York , NY 10013

STANY Members wanting to pay with Bitcoin CLICK HERE

Non-Members wanting to pay with Bitcoin CLICK HERE


COLLEAGUES, CLIENTS AND INDUSTRY EXPERTS will meet on April 10, 2014 at STANY’s 78th Annual Conference & Dinner, Wall Street 2.0–Innovation, Challenges and Opportunities.

Insightful panel discussions and thought-provoking topics will provide attendees with up-to date analysis of innovations in trading and the future outlook for the industry.Distinguished practitioners, experts, and strategists will provide information and predictions that traders and market professionals need to maintain and improve their competitive edge in the current trading environment.

Conference & Dinner Schedule*

8:00–8:20 a.m. Registration & Breakfast

8:20–8:30 a.m. Opening Remarks Pat Armstrong, President, STANY

8:30–9:15 a.m. The Evolution and Future of ETFs—What you Need to Know

Moderator: David LaValle, Vice President, Head of ETF Marketplace, NASDAQ-OMX

Stephen Cook,Managing Director and COO Global Structured Funds, BNY Mellon

Timothy J. Coyne, Head of SPDR ETF Institutional Sales & Global Capital Markets, State Street Global Advisors

Chris Hempstead, Head of ETF Sales,KCG Holdings

Kathleen H. Moriarty,Partner, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

9:15–10:15 a.m. BitCoin and Cryptocurrencies—Changing the Face of Money

Moderator: Dominic Chu, Markets Reporter, CNBC

Gil Luria, Managing Director, Financial Technology Stocks, Wedbush Securities

Brock Pierce,Chairman, GoCoin

Barry Silbert, Founder & CEO, SecondMarket & Creator, Bitcoin Investment Trust

Shawn Sloves, Founder & CEO, Atlas ATS

10:15–10:30 a.m. Networking and Refreshment Break

10:30–10:45 a.m. STA Update John Daley,Chairman, STA

10:45–11:45 p.m.Where Pension Funds are Allocating Their Assets and Directed Brokerage Programs

Moderator: Donna Simms Wilson, EVP, Head of Equities Sales & Trading, CastleOak Securities, L.P.

Nanette Buziak, Managing Director, Head of Equity Trading, ING

Kenneth Jackson,Head Trader, Herndon Capital Management

Stan Rupnick, Chief Investment Officer, Illinois Teachers

Eva Walsh,Senior Trader, JP Morgan Asset Management

11:45–12:30 p.m. Observations on the Economy and Financial Markets Post-Financial Crisis

E. William Stone, CFA®, CMT, Executive Vice President, Chief Investment Strategist,PNC Asset Management Group

12:30-1:15 p.m. Networking Lunch

1:15–2:00 p.m. Options Tax Reform—Chairman Dave Camp’s Proposal and Recapturing the Spirit of ‘86

Moderator: Joseph P. Corcoran, First Vice President and Head of Government Relations,The Options Clearing Corporation

Scott Eckel,Vice President, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Charles Schwab

Lita Frazier, Executive Director, Government Relations, Chicago Board Options Exchange

Brendon Weiss, Vice President, Global Government Affairs, IntercontinentalExchange-NYSE

2:00–3:00 p.m Trading from the Retail Perspective

Moderator: Richard Repetto, CFA, Principal, Equity Research, Sandler O'Neill & Partners LP

Matt Billings, Senior Vice President Trading Services and Program Management, Scottrade, Inc.

Paul Jiganti, Managing Director, TD Ameritrade

Todd Lard, Vice President, Trading Operations, Charles Schwab

Faris Matalka, Director Trading and Order Management, E*Trade

Brian McCarthy, Principal, Vanguard Brokerage

3:00–3:15 p.m.Networking and Refreshment Break

3:15-3:45 Chad Johnson, Esq. Chief Investor Protection, New York State Office of the Attorney General

3:45–4:45 p.m. HFT at a Crossroad

Moderator: Sayena Mostowfi,Senior Analyst,TABB Group

Donald Bollerman, Head of Market Operations, IEX Group, Inc.

Douglas Borden,Managing Director, KCG Holdings

Andrew Larsen, Director of Options Trading, IMC

Manoj Narang,Chief Executive Officer, Tradeworx

4:45–5:30 p.m. Discussion & Presentation 2014 STANY Awards

Presenter and Moderator: Bob Pisani, "On-Air Stocks" Editor, CNBC

John N. Tognino, Award for Lifetime Achievement and Dedication to STANY

Brendan Cryan, The American Stock Exchange, Award forOutstanding Contribution to the Industry

5:30–9:00 p.m. Cocktails and Buffet Dinner

Raffle and Silent Auction for The Alliance for Lupus Research

* Times and speakers are subject to change.

More information about speakers, schedules and sponsors will follow shortly so please check back.


These and other discussions will be followed by presentation by Bob Pisani, CNBC, of the First Annual STANY Awards to John N. Tognino for Lifetime Achievement and Dedication to STANY and to The American Stock Exchange (represented by Brenden Cryan, as the oldest active member of the AMEX) for Outstanding Contribution to the Industry.

Then join us for a 3 hour post-conference networking reception and support our efforts to raise money with a silent auction and raffle for the Alliance for Lupus Research.

STANY will accept payment in Bitcoin for tickets to its Annual Conference and Dinner. Sweetening the deal is Atlas ATS, the New-York-based cryptocurrency exchange, which has agreed to match the amount of Bitcoin-purchased tickets, up to $1,000. The actual Bitcoin transactions will be handled by GoCoin, the leading international payment platform for Bitcoin and Litecoin.


$20.00 50/50 Raffle for Alliance for Lupus Research

$100.00 6 Raffle tickets for the 50/50 Raffle for Alliance for Lupus Research

$275.00 Member Ticket- Available to Members-in-Good Standing (Dues must be current)
$300.00 after 10:00 am April 8

$450.00 Guest Ticket + 2014 Membership in STANY (Only available to people qualified to be members of STANY. To purchse you must fill out an application prior to purchase)
$475.00 after 10:00 am April 8

$425.00 Affiliate Member Ticket (Must be current member of an STA Affiliate)
$450.00 after 10:00 am April 8

$500.00 Non-Member Ticket
$525.00 after 10:00 am April 8

$50.00 Member Buy-side Trader (Limited to the buy-side. Must be verified by STANY.)
$75.00 after 10:00 am April 8

$225.00 Buy-side Non-Member Ticket
$250.00 after 10:00 am April 8

$0.00 STANY Board Member, Affiliate President, STA Governor